Young Empires - The Gates-LP

Add to cart
Only a few left
  • Details
  • Having issued their "The Gates" single a few months back, Toronto pop group Young Empires have announced that they'll soon be treating us to an album of the same name. Their debut LP drops September 4 via Pirates Blend.

    A press release notes that the record marks the first full-length effort from the Ontario, who had previously issued the electro-house-minded Wake All My Youth EP in 2012. Work on this latest, 10-song outing started back in 2013 at vocalist Matthew Vlahovich's home studio, with the group later tracking the set with producers Stephen "Koz" Kozmeniuk (Kendrick Lamar, Madonna), Jimmy Messer (AWOLNATION) and Kevin Seaton (Snoop Lion, Active Child).

    The set is said to be a "genre-blending" affair that finds the unit working with electronic and avant-pop flavours. Apparently, the recording sessions also found the act taking an instrument-swapping approach.

    "We weren't sticking to our own instruments; it was very fluid," Vlahovich said in a statement. "Sometimes Taylor [Hill, drummer] or Jake [Palahnuk, bass] would jump on the piano to come up with a lick or I would find a beat."

    The record features previously revealed singles "The Gates," "So Cruel" and "Sunshine." You'll find the tracklisting down below, along with a few upcoming tour dates. An audio stream of "The Gates" can be found below, while a video for the track can be viewed on the MUCH website.

    The Gates:

    1. Mercy
    2. The Gates
    3. So Cruel
    4. Ghosts
    5. Stranglehold
    6. House Lights
    7. Never Die Young
    8. The Unknown
    9. Sunshine
    10. Uncover Your Eyes